Plenary sessions
Plenary 1

Public or Private, Nation-State or Beyond? Regulating Work in a Global Era

What is the impact of the transformation and internationalization of the production of goods and services on the regulation of work and employment? What is the scope for distinctive policy approaches at national and even local levels? Are there still national models? What forms of transnational work regulation are emerging and how do they interact with national sources of regulation? Is labour policy to be driven and implemented by state or other actors? In other words, public or private, locality or nation state or beyond, at what levels will the regulation of work in a global era take place?

Clip 1: Gilles TRUDEAU, J. CHAREST, G. MURRAY (UdeM)
[FR - 25:29] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Gerhard BOSCH (IAQ, University Duisburg-Essen) [ENG - 22:35]
Clip 3: Isabelle DAUGAREILH (Université Montesquieu-Bordeaux IV) [FR - 19:39]


Plenary 2

What are Public Policies on Work for Anyway?

Why public policies on Work? What are the competing policy narratives and why? What are the objectives with regard to workers, labour markets and society as a whole? Is there a "war of the models"? What are the links between living standards, decent work, flexibility, productivity and equity and efficiency? Is there a "business case" for social protection and state intervention on work and employment? Is there a "social case" for labour policy? Should there and can there be global labour standards? What are the links between policies on work and employment and other economic and social policies?

Clip 1: Ron McCALLUM (University of Sydney) [ENG - 15:38]
Clip 2: Judith MAXWELL (Fondatrice, RCRPP) [ENG - 18:23]
Clip 3: Richard FREEMAN (Harvard University) [ENG - 28:54]
Clip 4: Adelle BLACKETT (Université McGill) [ENG - 19:06]
Clip 5: Questions [11:00]


Plenary 3

Public Policies for Whom?

Who are the beneficiaries of public policies and how can these policies reach them? How do market and social transformations change the way we think about the design of policies? Is employment still the right platform for social and labour policies? Should public policies for work be focused on employees or should they be directed at broader categories of workers and citizens? Are there differences between men and women in policy design? How should atypical and more vulnerable workers be taken into account? Do new economy and technology workers break the mould? What is the future of universal policies for work and employment? Does one size fit all? Should we aim for more sector-based or custom-designed policies for the workplace? Should they be delivered to individuals or collectivities? Does industrial citizenship still mean something today? Does our policy framework give voice to collective actors about their lives at work? Should it be changed to do so?

Clip 1: Judy FUDGE (University of Victoria)
[ENG - 17:12]
Clip 2: Guylaine VALLÉE (Université de Montréal)
[FR - 24:34]
Clip 3: Michael J. PIORE (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
[ENG - 19:00]
Clip 4: Questions
[22:14]


Plenary 4

Which Policies? Imagining Policies for the Future

Focusing on substantive policy areas (minimum standards, fundamental rights and dignity at work, work and life courses, development of human capital and training, etc.) and their modes of implementation, what are the policies for the future and how should they be implemented? How should policies in these areas respond to new social and economic challenges? What is the scope and content for legislated norms and how are they to be applied? What is the role of labour market actors in ensuring that policies are implemented and effective? What is the architecture of the links between different types and levels of work regulation?

Clip 1: Barbara POCOCK (University of South Australia)
[ENG - 20:09] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Jean CHAREST (Université de Montréal) [FR - 25:30] Powerpoint
Clip 3: Harry ARTHURS (York University) [ENG - 18:31|
Clip 4: Questions
[39:25]


Plenary 5

Research Perspectives

What are the core issues for research on public policies for work and employment? Are there larger social science questions that researching public policies on work and employment can help us to address? What should be the research priorities for studying public policies on work and employment? What theoretical and methodological challenges need to be taken into account in developing this research agenda?


Clip 1: David PEETZ (Griffith University) [ENG - 18:08] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Gerry RODGERS (IIES, OIT) [ENG - 16:55] Powerpoint
Clip 3: Marie-Ange MOREAU (Institut universitaire européen) [FR - 15:24]
Clip 4: Jody HEYMANN (Université McGill)
[ENG - 15:11] Powerpoint
Clip 5: Gregor MURRAY (Université de Montréal)
[ENG - 18:57] Powerpoint
Clip 6: Questions
[24:41]

Séances plénières
Plénière 1

La régulation du travail : étatique ou privée, nationale ou supranationale ?

Quel est l’impact de la transformation et de l’internationalisation de la production des biens et services sur la régulation du travail et de l’emploi ? Existe-t-il un espace pour l’élaboration de politiques distinctives au niveau national ou même local ? En fait, y a-t-il toujours des modèles nationaux de régulation ? Quelles formes transnationales la régulation du travail emprunte-t-elle et comment celles-ci s’arriment-elles avec les sources nationales de régulation ? Les politiques du travail doivent-elles être développées et appliquées par l’État ou par d’autres acteurs? En d’autres termes, cette séance plénière discute de l’équilibre à établir, à l’ère de la mondialisation, entre mécanismes publics et privés de régulation sociale tant aux niveaux local et communautaire qu’aux niveaux national et supranational.

Clip 1: Gilles TRUDEAU, J. CHAREST, G. MURRAY (UdeM)
[FR - 25:29] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Gerhard BOSCH (IAQ, University Duisburg-Essen) [ANG - 22:35]
Clip 3: Isabelle DAUGAREILH (Université Montesquieu-Bordeaux IV) [FR - 19:39]


Plénière 2

Des politiques du travail, pourquoi ?

Pourquoi les politiques en matière de travail existent-elles ? Quels objectifs celles-ci cherchent-elles à accomplir relativement aux travailleurs, au marché du travail et à l'ensemble de la société ? Quels liens peut-on établir entre protection sociale, travail décent, équité, productivité, efficacité, flexibilité et niveau de vie ? Y a-t-il une guerre de modèles de régulation ? Les notions intuitives de cercle vertueux (meilleure protection sociale, productivité et niveau de vie accrus) ou vicieux (protection sociale élevée, compétitivité nationale diminuée et baisse du niveau de vie) se vérifient-elles ? Devrait-il et pourrait-il exister des normes du travail « globales » ? Quels liens doit-on tisser entre les politiques sur le travail et l’emploi et les autres politiques économiques et sociales ?

Clip 1: Ron McCALLUM (University of Sydney)
[ANG - 15:38]
Clip 2: Judith MAXWELL (Fondatrice, RCRPP) [ANG - 18:23]
Clip 3: Richard FREEMAN (Harvard University) [ANG - 28:54]
Clip 4: Adelle BLACKETT (Université McGill) [ANG - 19:06]
Clip 5: Questions
[11:00]


Plénière 3

Des politiques du travail, pour qui ?

Comment les transformations économiques et sociales changent-elles notre façon de concevoir les politiques du travail ? L’universalisme est-il toujours pertinent ou faut-il penser les politiques du travail à un niveau décentralisé, que ce soit celui du secteur d’activités ou du milieu de travail (Does one size fit all ?). Les travailleurs occupant un emploi salarié doivent-ils demeurer au centre des préoccupations sociales face à l’éclatement des statuts de travail ? Comment prendre en compte les travailleurs atypiques et ceux qui sont les plus vulnérables ? La conception des politiques actuelles prend-elle en compte les différences entre hommes et femmes ? La nouvelle économie et l'avènement des technologies de l'information exigent-elles une conception nouvelle des politiques du travail et de l'emploi ? L’emploi demeure-t-il le meilleur moyen de transmission de la protection sociale, ou doit-on se tourner vers d’autres mécanismes institutionnels ou simplement vers la notion de citoyenneté ? La citoyenneté industrielle signifie-t-elle encore quelque chose ? Notre cadre actuel de régulation permet-il aux acteurs collectifs de faire valoir leur point de vue au sujet de la vie au travail ? Devrait-il être modifié dans cette perspective ?

Clip 1: Judy FUDGE (University of Victoria)
[ANG - 17:12]
Clip 2: Guylaine VALLÉE (Université de Montréal)
[FR - 24:34]
Clip 3: Michael J. PIORE (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
[ANG - 19:00]
Clip 4: Questions
[22:14]


Plénière 4

Quelles politiques pour le futur ?

Cette séance plénière s’intéresse au contenu même des politiques du travail (normes du travail, droits fondamentaux et dignité au travail, équilibre travail-famille, développement du capital humain et formation), à leurs modes d’implantation. Comment les politiques en ces matières doivent-elles répondre aux nouveaux défis économiques et sociaux ? Ainsi, quel contenu doivent revêtir les normes légiférées du travail ? Par quels mécanismes doivent-elles être appliquées ? Quel est le rôle des acteurs du marché du travail à cet égard ? À quelle architecture les liens entre les différentes catégories et niveaux de politiques doivent-ils correspondre ?

Clip 1: Barbara POCOCK (University of South Australia)
[ANG - 20:09] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Jean CHAREST (Université de Montréal) [FR - 25:30] Powerpoint
Clip 3: Harry ARTHURS (York University) [ANG - 18:31|
Clip 4: Questions
[39:25]


Plénière 5

Perspectives de recherche

Quels sont les objets principaux de la recherche portant sur les politiques du travail et de l’emploi? La recherche en cette matière recoupe-t-elle des préoccupations plus larges de la recherche en sciences sociales? Quelles devraient être les priorités de recherche pour l’étude des politiques du travail et de l’emploi? Quels défis théoriques et méthodologiques doivent-ils être pris en compte dans le développement d’une telle programmation de recherche ?


Clip 1: David PEETZ (Griffith University) [ANG - 18:08] Powerpoint
Clip 2: Gerry RODGERS (IIES, OIT) [ANG - 16:55] Powerpoint
Clip 3: Marie-Ange MOREAU (Institut universitaire européen) [FR - 15:24]
Clip 4: Jody HEYMANN (Université McGill)
[ANG - 15:11] Powerpoint
Clip 5: Gregor MURRAY (Université de Montréal)
[ANG - 18:57] Powerpoint
Clip 6: Questions
[24:41]